Faster interaction - chatroom/Discord?

Go to CruxDreams.com
Hi everyone,
I know I'm new here, but I've been wondering: why don't we have a chatroom or a Discord server for our community? This place is awesome, and I think it would be great to have the opportunity to chat live with fellow members.I don't want to rock the boat, and I apologize if this has been asked and discussed before. Just thought it might be a nice addition to this already fantastic community. What do you all think? Is this something others would be interested in too? Thanks for your time!

I think a Discord channel would be good, but I am a newbie here, I would like to hear the founders and admins opinions. It's basically free but more work. I don't know. Easy for me to speculate without my ass being on the line.

This post certainly elicited some discussion amongst staff but baring in mind we are all unpaid volunteers there’s a reluctance to taking on more work. Certainly from a personal perspective I find Discord unwieldy, I do use it for its original intended purpose- gaming discussion and sharing.

I suggest an official cruxforums Discord channel to be extremely unlikely but if members wanted to create their own unmoderated channel that seems fine.

I strongly recommend against using any chat channels such as WhatsApp that reveal personal details. If using Discord, make an anonymous profile that doesn’t link to your RL email, socials, or phone etc. I had a bad experience with someone in a chat channel and am grateful they don’t know my RL circumstances at all.